BCPL 2017 SEASON
BAT RULE!

     The Bay County Pony League Members have voted on a NEW BAT RULE for the League. The NEW RULE will take effect with our 2017 Season.

     "For the 2017 season, all non-wood
2-5/8 bats used in the Bay County Pony League must be BBCOR certified.  If a player chooses to use a non-wood 2-1/4" bat, it must be stamped approved for Pony League."
 

     This Rule was voted into place for the safety of our Players both on the pitching mound and in the field. After a few years of dealing with Rules and Compression testing the League took this action to make it much easier for are players and their families. To ALL parents planning on Gifts of Baseball Bats this coming Holiday Season we ask that you follow the Rule above.
​-------------------​


​​​

"Serving the Youth of Bay County since 1952"


Play 7.  With a runner on first base only. F1 fails to come to a complete stop and a balk is called. He delivers the pitch, which hits B5 squarely in the back.
A.  Ball is dead immediately, R1 is awarded second.
B.  Ball is dead at the end of the play, B5 is awarded first.
C.  A ball is added to B5's count.
D.  The offense has an option of taking the balk or the play.

ANSWER:  B.   Pro 6.02 pen

Play 8.  In the 5th inning, Chon who has not been in the game, is sent to bat for Dan. No one reports the pinch hitter Chon to the umpire. After he singles, the defense coach Tom complains that he Chon was an illegal sub and should be ejected from the game and 6 more games.  Ruling.

ANSWER:  Unannounced substitutions are legal. Chon is legally in the game for Dan.  Pro 3.03, 3.08a

Play 9.  With a runner on third stealing and a 1-2 count, the batter bunts. The pitch is tipped and goes directly to the catcher's glove, rebounds off the catcher's mask and is deflected toward the third baseman, who is charging in the bunt. The third baseman dives and legally catches the ball.   Ruling

ANSWER:   The batter is out , but not on a caught foul tip. Only the catcher may legally catch a foul tip. In the play the ball is a foul ball. The runner returns to third and the batter is out for bunting foul with two strikes.

Play 10.  Two outs, no runners on base. On a 3-2 count a pitch bounces in the dirt before the batter swings and tips the ball directly into the catcher's glove. The batter takes off for first and the catcher rolls the ball toward the mound.  Ruling

ANSWER:   Batter is out. While a pitch that bounces cannot be fought for purposes of the uncaught third strike rule, so long as the batted ball goes directly to the catcher's glove and is legally caught by the catcher it is a foul tip.

Pony Quiz 2016 # 2

Play 1. B1 hits to F1, who boots the ball. He recovers and throws the ball over F3's head into the stands. F1 released the ball (a) before, or (b) after B1 crossed first base.  Ruling for A and B

ANSWER:   In (a) B1 is awarded second; two bases from the time of the pitch. In (b) since B1 was past first base when the throw was made, he is awarded third base; two bases from the time of the throw. Pro 7.05g

Play 2.  R1 and R2 are moving on the pitch when B1 dribbles one slowly past the pitcher. As R1 begins his slide into second, the batted ball hits him. At the time R1 is hit, R2 has already touched third.  Ruling.

ANSWER:   Although the ball passed the pitcher, it hit R1 before it passed an infielder, so R1 is out for inference. B1 remains on first, credited with a single. R2 is returned to second; no runner can advance.  Pro 7.08f​

Play 3.  B1 bunts a ball between the mound and first base. F1 dives for the ball. The ball is deflected into B1 advancing to first base.
 Ruling.

ANSWER: The ball remains live and in play. Unless a runner intentionally interferes, he is not out for being hit by a deflected ball.  Pro 7.09k​

Play 4.  With R1 on first , B4 hits a fly ball to left center field. R1 touches and rounds second. The ball is unaudited. Thinking the ball was caught, R1 retreats, retouching second. R1 passes B4 headed back toward first. The throw from F8 goes to F6, who relays the ball to F3. F3 makes the catch on the bag just before R1 returns, but tags R1 after his return.B4 is standing on second base.
A.  B4 is out for passing R1
B.  R1 is out for passing B4
C.  R1 is out for running the bases in reverse.
D.  R1 is out on the force back into first base.
E.  R1 is legally allowed to remain at first.
F.  B4 is legally allowed to remain at second.

ANSWER:  A and E.     Pro. 2.00 force play. 5.09h

Play 5.  R2 is stealing third on the pitch. F2 catches the pitch cleanly and attempts to throw toward third. The throw hits B6.
A.  As long as B6 remains in his position in the box, he cannot be guilty of
     interference, no matter how he moves.
B.  As long as B6 remains in his position, he cannot be guilty of
     interference, and if B6 moves, he must move out of the way of F2
C.  B6 is out, on matter the result of the play.

ANSWER:  B.  Pro 5.09c​

Play 6.  What is required for a proper appeal?
A.  It may be made only when the ball is live.
B.  It may be made when the ball is live or dead.
C.  The coach may ask the umpire to rule when the ball is live.
D.  The coach may ask the umpire to rule only when the ball is dead.
E.  The coach may not ask the umpire to rule.
F.  Only the coach may ask for an appeal.

ANSWER:  A and E.  Pro 5.09